2018 – Here I come!

_K3A5095

Image: Sacha Specker – Running at home.

Wow! It’s been a while since my last post. I felt now was the time to finally do something as it’s a new year, new running goals, new plans for 2018.

The last time I blogged, I had just completed the Honolulu Marathon, which was a race I will never forget. After Hawaii, I went to Sydney to visit family. I Continued my running and caught up with my running crew there, the Rejoov Runners. They are super speedy, so I got some solid quality speed sessions in, which is always a plus. They are such a talented, friendly bunch of people. If ever you are in Sydney and want to train and get something of quality out of your running, they are your crew. I always push myself to the max with them.

File 2018-01-13, 3 52 10 PM

Speed session in the rain. They run rain, hail or shine!

File 2018-01-13, 3 53 14 PM

Middle – Juny who is doing the Tarawera 100km Ultra Trail in Feb, she’s amazing. Rachel, super speedster and all-round talented runner.

My next race is tomorrow. The Bay 2 Bay here in Cape Town. It will be the first training run and race for the Two Oceans build up. Physically I feel ready; mentally I am not sure, I just arrived in Cape Town yesterday so a little jet-lagged but once I put on my club kit and see all my fellow running crew I know I will be chomping at the bit. Can’t be as hard as no sleep what so ever like I experience the night before Honolulu!

Two Oceans Ultra – This will be my next big race which is in March. From now until then I will slowly up the mileage. The good thing about training at this time is that there is pretty much a race on every weekend and they are perfect distances to use as training runs for Two Oceans, 56km around the most beautiful parts of Cape Town. It’s probably my main goal for the year as it’s such a big one.

AfricanX Trailrun – After Two Oceans I will be doing AfricanX, which is a three-day stage race on the trails in the Cape Winelands. You run in teams of two so my friend Erni and I will be a team. I am looking forward to running with my best friend. She is a super strong runner and an absolute please to run with, both of us chatting the whole time. We have done many races together. I am super excited for this event covering 100km over the three days, starting and finishing at Boschendal Wine Estate in the Cape Winelands. This will be a fun one but also quite a challenging course, so I’ve heard.

After AfricanX I will take some time off as these two races are close to each other, and by then my body will need a break. I want to focus my attention on some beautiful trail events, being here in Cape Town we have the luxury of some incredible trails and the trail running community here is pretty unique. Plus, who doesn’t love the trails? I want to enter into some new races and new events that I haven’t yet tried. Maybe even go for some longer distances. Get out of my comfort zone a bit and challenge myself.

If you have done some incredible races anywhere in the world, please let me know. I’d love to add a few to my bucket list.

Leave a comment